Engine Swaps Post information/questions about Engine Swaps here!

new to FI-need some information

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2003
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Devst8n is an unknown quantity at this point
new to FI-need some information

Okay this is probably more than a simple question but Im new to FI and I have some thoughts questions about it.

First off I assume the installation of a turbo will void the warranty on the engine and any components I alter?

Does anyone know really know how much safe boost is without overloading the engine? I have seen 4-7 psi and from what others are saying anything over 11 psi will break the intake manifold? What about say 6 psi? Will this prematurely wear the engine or is it safe to work under this load?

What is really required in a basic turbo kit? Obviously the turbo and the new exhaust manifold, but what do you need? I understand a cold air intake is usually used. What about 02 sensors, map senors etc? I see some people are using other products to fake the ECU inputs but are they really required?

What about the gauges used? I see the short forms but I dont understand them all. I assume you want to watch your boost pressure but what else?

What about the type? Garrett, greddy? Anyone have any compliments/complaints?

Overall Im looking to possibly buy/install a turbo and I want to get 30-40% HP gain without going crazy. I dont want all the headaches hassles as I want to retain driveability and reliability. I know that there is alot of info in the forum here but I have a hard time discerning fact with opinion.

Thanks to any help you guys can give
Old 07-05-2003
Premium Boosted Member
Hey! Look At Me!! I'm a Supporting Member!!

MadWheel will become famous soon enoughMadWheel will become famous soon enough
turbo will void all of your pissible engine warranties, but things like suspension continues to be covverd under warranty.