Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

clutch question

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2002
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
jkim1978 is an unknown quantity at this point
clutch question

i just bought a civic lx stick 2 weeks ago.. and this is my first time that i am driving a manual... well my question is this... when i first started to drive the car.. i would let the clutch out not that much but enough... and started to push the accelerator to go... but since couple of days ago... it feels like i have to let the clutch out way more then i used to.... before i can start going... is this normal... ? or is there a problem... ? is this waht they mean.. when they say that i am wearing out my clutch? any suggestions will be appreciated.. thanks... sorry... newbie... and i did do a search.. found nothing..
Old 10-01-2002
Registered!!

1955 is an unknown quantity at this point
thats usual cus the throw out bearing/clutch release fork need to engage the pressure plate/flywheel,so dont be worry.
Old 10-02-2002
Registered!!

SoNiCcIvIc is an unknown quantity at this point
Wearing out the clutch is pretty much pressing the gas too much as you let off the clutch changing gears. The clutch is pretty resiliant to people who learn how to drive a stick and people get 50k miles on it... but any clutch can be destroyed in a matter of 2 minutes. It's always nice to treat that part of the car with the utmost respect because they aren't a cheap replacement.
Old 10-02-2002
Registered!!