Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Pulsing brake pedal/ no brakes

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2017
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
fabled523 is an unknown quantity at this point
Pulsing brake pedal/ no brakes

Hi everyone,

I bought a 2005 civic about a week and a half ago and haven't had any problems until this morning.

When braking lightly the brakes will work but under heavier braking (not panic braking just regular medium to hard braking) the pedal will start to pulse and get hard and then the brakes will feel like they are locking up (I don't think they actually are because of how big the stopping distance is when it happens).

The rotors look like they are in good condition (smooth with no obvious warping) although I am far from an expert.

I am currently leaning toward thinking it's an ABS issue but the ABS light is not on.

Any Ideas?

Thanks in advance
Old 02-27-2017
OF top 99.5% creator (Formerly of the Puffinblunts variety)

Received 109 Likes on 89 Posts
Wankenstein has much to be proud ofWankenstein has much to be proud ofWankenstein has much to be proud ofWankenstein has much to be proud ofWankenstein has much to be proud ofWankenstein has much to be proud ofWankenstein has much to be proud ofWankenstein has much to be proud ofWankenstein has much to be proud ofWankenstein has much to be proud ofWankenstein has much to be proud of
Re: Pulsing brake pedal/ no brakes

Originally Posted by fabled523
When braking lightly the brakes will work but under heavier braking (not panic braking just regular medium to hard braking) the pedal will start to pulse and get hard and then the brakes will feel like they are locking up (I don't think they actually are because of how big the stopping distance is when it happens).