Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

2001 AC, fellow AC gurus, ezone especially

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2012
Registered!!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
johndeerebones is a jewel in the roughjohndeerebones is a jewel in the roughjohndeerebones is a jewel in the rough
2001 AC, fellow AC gurus, ezone especially

I have been a full time student for a year, a tech for 15 years before that.

Today our temps were ~110*, hotter than it's been for 20 years at least. Of course my AC decided today was to quit. Lets just say the 50 mile commute SUCKED. When I left school it seemed ok, sucks at first then cools down fine down the road, normal for this car. Then maybe 5 miles down the road it quit all together. I didn't expect to be anymore than mediocre on temps like they were, but not to not work at all. When I got home I burned the crap out of my arms a few times to diagnose it...

Here is what I found, 4 pm, around 110 ambient: The radiator and condensor fans were running fine with the a/c like they are supposed to. The compressor was not engaged at all, my pressures were evened out at ~150 psi (a little high?) I had power to the red/blue wire to the clutch, but it wasn't engaged. It was to hot (engine) to dig around the exhaust and the smoking hot power steering to get a probe stuck in the thermal switch wires and test it.