Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

2003 with skidding issues

Old 07-17-2009
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
jenniferpa is an unknown quantity at this point
2003 with skidding issues

Newbie here, so I apologize if this is in the wrong place.

My son's 2003 Ex is experiencing a slightly strange problem. When it rains, he loses front wheel traction when turning on an upward gradient (i.e. he's on a hill, going up, and the car skids when he tries to turn). It seems less speed dependent and more to do with the grade of the hill. It even happens when he's come to a dead stop (at, say, a light).

He has new tires on and the only thing slightly non standard is he has a fair large amount of reasonably heavy sound equipment in the trunk.

If it's any help this didn't seem to be an issue when he had snow tires on this winter.

It has occurred to me that the weight of the sound equipment might have shifted the center of gravity so the front wheels are not making adequate contact with the pavement, but to be honest, I'm clutching at straws here - I would have said that the whole lot doesn't weigh more than 200lbs and also, it looks to me like it's forward of the rear axles.

Any ideas at all? I've had the basic stuff (tire pressure, tread etc) checked but am trying to work out where to go now.
Old 07-17-2009
Premium Member
Hey! Look At Me!! I'm a Supporting Member!!

Received 18 Likes on 13 Posts
gearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond repute