Engine Post your engine related problems in this section. Engines will cover from Fuel, Engine, Cooling, Exhaust physical related items.

whats this?

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2017
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Kristoliquid is an unknown quantity at this point
whats this?

Old 12-01-2017
Registered!!

Re: whats this?

this plug full of oil on it. I was looking under my hood and saw alot of black old oil everywhere near this plug. But there is no leak apparently, After driving one hour, I put some cardboard under the car and there is no leak, the oil stains go down to some metal pipe under the fans. or maybe its just grease. when i bought the car, it had been greased everywhere and even under the hood.

Its the plug just right of the manifold.
What is it called and is the front manifold is it the intake or exhaust one? ( im new to mechanics)

Maybe its when honda did oil changes in the past that they just dropped it there? (now i do oil changes myself since now) or there is really a leak somewhere.

Is it ok to spray some gunk engine cleaner all over the area and on that plug to take all of the oil off and then see if it leaks again?

Thanks alot!

Last edited by Kristoliquid; 12-01-2017 at 08:18 AM.
Old 12-01-2017
"Marge, anyone could miss Canada! All tucked away down there."

Received 1,137 Likes on 951 Posts
Colin42 is a name known to allColin42 is a name known to allColin42 is a name known to allColin42 is a name known to allColin42 is a name known to allColin42 is a name known to allColin42 is a name known to all

that looks like an electrical connection, someone got a little too happy with the under coating spray. i'd hit it with some degreaser
Old 12-01-2017
If you think a good mechanic is expensive, try hiring a bad one

Received 250 Likes on 182 Posts