Detailing Look here for questions and answers on detailing and washing your car etc.

Applying and removing polish/sealant

Old 07-29-2006
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
k-man is an unknown quantity at this point
Applying and removing polish/sealant

Hi,

I am still pretty new to this, I have a PC 7336 and I have used it only once so far with a pretty good results.

I just wanted some advice on procedure mainly with removing the product. Im currently applying Menzerna FPII with the the PC with the white LC pad and removing with a micro fibre buffing cloth and then applying Four Star UPP with the black LC pad and removing with another micro fibre buffing cloth.

Now is my procedure ideal in terms of applying and removing product?? would I be better off removing product with a buffing bonnet using the PC? or stick with a microfiber buffing cloth? if so does anyone have recomendations on which to purchase (current ones need replacing anyway)

Also, is it better to apply the Four Star UPP sealant by hand to apply thinner? i was told to use the yellow application pads, is this better than PC application with the black LC pads? and again is it better to remove the product by hand with the micro fiber cloth or via PC and a buffing bonnet.

Any advice would be appreciated!
Old 07-30-2006
Registered!!

mogwai will become famous soon enough
Originally Posted by k-man
Now is my procedure ideal in terms of applying and removing product?? would I be better off removing product with a buffing bonnet using the PC? or stick with a microfiber buffing cloth? if so does anyone have recomendations on which to purchase (current ones need replacing anyway)
Me personally, I've always preferred taking off the product by hand with a good microfiber towel. I've never used the Menzerna, but I know the UPP comes off pretty easily. So other than less elbow grease, I don't see too much of a benefit in using the PC to remove product.