Detailing Look here for questions and answers on detailing and washing your car etc.

how do I pressure wash my engine???

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2004
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
miklovo is an unknown quantity at this point
how do I pressure wash my engine???

I have an 01 coupe with headers, CAI, and catback exaust. How am I supposed to pressure wash the engine bay? It's getting pretty greasy and dirty and it's buggin' the hell out of me, but I'm afraid that if I wash it with the pressure hose its gonna get in my intake and get sucked into the engine. also I have a bypass valve on my intake so that is a prob too. I've been told to just get like some plastic and just cover these things and It son't be a prob. but I dont knoW?!?
Old 03-02-2004
Registered!!

should I use a degreaser or just hot water? I've got a chrome DC Upper Strut bar that might get damaged with the degreaser...**** i don't know, I'm new at all this!!! Tips gladly welcomed!!!
Old 03-02-2004
I wish I was asian

cambo has a spectacular aura aboutcambo has a spectacular aura about
please explain to me why water would get sucked up your intake during the wash. Its not like you would have your engine running while your washing it, unless you're a complete idiot. And even still, pressure washing is just shooting water out of a hose at a high force.
Old 03-02-2004
Registered!!

I realize that the car isn't running when I wash the engine it's when you start the car again, I just wanna make sure nothing's gonna get into my engine. i know this sounds like an idiodic question but I just wanna make sure i'm not forgetting anything...
Old 03-02-2004
Registered!!

Ronin is an unknown quantity at this point
--> detailing forum
Old 03-03-2004
Registered!!

Da1lyDr1ver has a spectacular aura aboutDa1lyDr1ver has a spectacular aura about