Engine Management Post information/questions about Engine Management here! It's especially important for Forced Induction (Turbo and SuperCharging) and Engine swaps! What destroys engines are fuel management!

Can my automatic Civic be tuned?

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2019
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
HonestlyX is an unknown quantity at this point
Can my automatic Civic be tuned?

Hi, I am rather new to upgrading cars and I am looking into tuning my 04 Honda Civic LX daily driver. It is currently bone stock and it is an automatic. I do plan on installing a CAI and Cat-back in the future.

On my research I have seen that most ECU's are made for manual transmissions. From the tuners I have seen such as K-PRO they do not offer anything for automatics.

So I was wondering. Can a tune be done on an automatic? If so, what is the best way to do it? Flash, Chip replacement, etc? Should I do it as a first step on the upgrade path or last step?
Old 05-11-2019
"Marge, anyone could miss Canada! All tucked away down there."

Received 1,127 Likes on 942 Posts
Colin42 is a name known to allColin42 is a name known to allColin42 is a name known to allColin42 is a name known to allColin42 is a name known to allColin42 is a name known to allColin42 is a name known to all
Re: Can my automatic Civic be tuned?

The cai and cat back won't do anything but be shiny and add more noise. You're probably sol for a tunable ecu for an automatic
Old 05-12-2019
Registered!!

Originally Posted by Colin42
The cai and cat back won't do anything but be shiny and add more noise. You're probably sol for a tunable ecu for an automatic
Is there a particular reason that automatics favored over manual for tuning? It get that manual is the way to go if you want to track. But, me being new and all I'm not trying to go to crazy by swapping trannies and I'm just looking to make daily driving more fun and learn.