Overheating or loss of coolant, heater blowing cold If you are having overheating of loss of coolant issues, post here!

2004 civic started doing a bunch of bad stuff

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2019
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
smann2 is an unknown quantity at this point
2004 civic started doing a bunch of bad stuff

So let’s make this short and sweet. I’m a delivery driver and don’t know a ton about cars, so I need my car to make money to fix my car.

about a week or so ago, my check engine light came on, so I got it checked at autozone and they said it’s my thermostat. I haven’t been able to replace it because I don’t have a jack but that’ll be done over the coming weekend.

fast forward to yesterday. my car makes an obnoxious whistle at seemingly random times, as well as the temp gage saying it’s overheating when I idle(that overheating has been doing it since the CEL came on) and i just kinda attributed it to the Thermostat. Also my heat doesn’t work while I’m idle.

then today, the whistle has gotten worse, and more frequent. I noticed while coming out from a delivery a little bit of smoke coming from my engine bay, hmm, weird but it’s cold outside so maybe that’s it. I popped the hood to check to see what’s going on, and nothing looks to be wrong except when I put my hand over the engine it was blowing air out at me, and I feel like that’s not normal.

a couple things I thought were the whistle being my vacuum tubing, and the temperature related things being my thermostat. But then with the smoke and the air blowing from my engine I got kinda concerned. Any help is greatly appreciated.

i attached a video of the whistle noise coming from my car.
Old 01-04-2019
"Marge, anyone could miss Canada! All tucked away down there."

Received 1,132 Likes on 946 Posts