Bolt-on Engine Performance Post questions/information about intakes, exhausts, headers, lightweight pulleys or flywheels? It belongs here.

New member...new Civic driver...lookin for some more HP and got some questions

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2014
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Inkubus is an unknown quantity at this point
New member...new Civic driver...lookin for some more HP and got some questions

hey yall
as the title says I'm new to honda, new to this forum...have hondaheads as friends irl. hopefully yall can answer some of my questions.

first off I got 02 civic ex manual trans. great car but I know it could be better. now I want some more hp in this thing than what came stock.

I figure in the future I will do an engine swap, k20a2 or something like that. but not for a while yet. this car has 89k miles on it which is good...low...and I'd rather be more stable in life when I do a swap...so I'd just like smaller gains for now. 1. unless you guys think a swap would be better idea?

if not...figure Ill get intake tubes on ebay, buy an AEM filter and drop it in...save some money there, get a better exhaust after reading more of the exhaust sticky. then maybe crower stage 1 cam. 2. what kind of boost would those 3 things give (intake, exhaust, s1 cam)?

if a swap is better for my situation...3. will I need a crower stage 1 cam? or will it not matter at that point? and I figure Ill still need to get a better intake and exhaust anyway

so what do yall think? any help is appreciated.

EDIT: probably would help for you to know what I'm looking for: better acceleration, especially from a stop. I'd like better sound than stock. and some more horses under my hood...if you suggest not doing swap yet, then just enough to make this thing move a bit better...again, especially from a stop.

Last edited by Inkubus; 07-07-2014 at 02:40 PM.
Old 07-07-2014
Prelude Owner

Received 305 Likes on 215 Posts