Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Desperately need help- Just replaced clutch, car won't go into 1st or 2nd

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2013
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
josephemorgan91 is an unknown quantity at this point
Desperately need help- Just replaced clutch, car won't go into 1st or 2nd

Title says it all, guys... I'm in trouble if I can't figure this out haha. I'm a college student and don't have a lot of spare money, so I try to do all repairs myself even though I don't have a lot of real mechanical know-how.

I just replaced the clutch (pressure plate, clutch disk, throw-out bearing, pilot bearing) and that all went pretty well. Followed a guide online to the tee, put it all back together and took it for a test drive and it ran GREAT. The clutch pedal felt totally different, like night and day and it was way more responsive. I took it around the block, went through every gear, and it all seemed fine. I pulled into my grandma's driveway and parked it for 20 minutes, and then went to leave. Lo and behold, to my utter dismay, I couldn't get it to go into 1st or 2nd gear. The shifter will go to the left, but it's like there is something physically blocking it from going forwards or backwards. 3rd, 4th, 5th work great, R is a little hard to get in but it's still okay.

First thing I did was bleed the clutch fluid line to make sure there were no air bubbles, but that didn't help anything.