Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Car is loud, poor acceleration, & strange smell.

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2013
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Horse Chick is an unknown quantity at this point
Car is loud, poor acceleration, & strange smell.

I'll preface this by stating I am car illiterate. I only learned how to take my car to the shop for an oil change this year, and I've been driving for four years. I'm that bad.

The first problem started at the beginning of June. My dad took the car in for a tune up, or something. Next time I got in it it was really loud. It sounded like those suped-up sports cars that people drive. It roars! I made a comment to my mom and she said it was fuel injectors and it should wear off. Three months later it's still there, and last time I talked to my dad he said the was no fuel injectors given(is that even a real thing?).

The second is slow acceleration. My care is not a powerful car by any means. 1995 manual, 4 cylinder(I know something! Look at me!). I don't know if it because I moved closer to the mountains and went from prairie to foothills so I am noticing the hills more, or if this is a progressive problem that is manifesting now. Even to accelerate on a flat stretch of road is slow, but if I have to accel up a hill if I'm not almost flooring it I am loosing speed. It might be related, but I'm not sure if my car is reaching the top of it's gears at the same point that it used to(Am I saying that right? The point where I would shift higher.) It may be that I am not used to the new sound it's making so that's throwing me off, idk...