I.C.E. (Audio) & Electrical Upgrades Post all your I.C.E. (In Car Entertainment) and wiring questions here (Audio, video etc.)

Another custom trunk setup

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2002
Tre
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Tre is an unknown quantity at this point
Another custom trunk setup

Please don't be too quick to judge, this is only temporary and my first full custom system. But all of my roommates/buddies seem to really like it. And besides, this system sounds REALLY clean and cost less than $1100. I got everything except the moster cables from Ebay.

I've decided on using the Pioneer 7300 cd player-it's got some cool visuals and plenty of options.
[IMG]www.geocities.com/thirdmorris/MBquarts.jpg[/IMG]
MB quart component DSD 213 were installed up front--These things are LOUD and clear...I was very pleased. I used blue LED's to light the crossovers up in the trunk. I'm no expert, but I recommend using LED's over neon anyday, they don't buzz or draw much current. I still have the stock rear speakers but they are used mainly for midrange/midbass fill.
[IMG]www.geocities.com/thirdmorris/trunksetup.jpg[/IMG]
This is my trunk setup. I wanted to keep as much trunk space as possible and stay low key (spelling??). So I ended up fiberglassing a box. This was my first fiberglassed box and looked pretty butt-ugly. That's why I didn't take pictures while I was making it. I must admit, this box does sound good and is extremely light. I chose the Pioneer TS-W3041 DVC sub for it's tight bass and small sealed applications (1 cu ft.)
[IMG]www.geocities.com/thirdmorris/kenwoodamp.jpg[/IMG]
[IMG]www.geocities.com/thirdmorris/sparetire.jpg[/IMG]
The coolest thing about this setup is that I was able to keep the spare tire!! I'm running 2 kenwood amps (for now)...I'm saving up for a couple of Fosgates.