I.C.E. (Audio) & Electrical Upgrades Post all your I.C.E. (In Car Entertainment) and wiring questions here (Audio, video etc.)

First time install amp,subs,HU tips please...TIA

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2004
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
drcivic is an unknown quantity at this point
First time install amp,subs,HU tips please...TIA

Hello,

My plan is to install an Alpine 9831 HU, with 2 10" MTX thunder 4500 subs powered by an Alpine M200 1 channel amp. Could the experts give me a quick outline of all the tools and parts I'm gonna need to do this install as well as procedure like best order to install and such as what's the best path to run power/ground/rca calbes from the engine to the trunk, etc? I've never done this before but am eager to learn and prefer to do it myself. Thanks for you help.

ps. I have a 2001 LX coupe

Last edited by drcivic; 08-12-2004 at 08:03 PM. Reason: forgot to say what model
Old 08-12-2004
Registered!!

meseetree is on a distinguished road
it will take forever for me to post look at the DIY for the amp install and stuff and any questions that the DIY doesn't answer look at crutchfield they tell you everything
Old 08-12-2004
Registered!!

brash is an unknown quantity at this point
I assume you have an enclosure (or two) for the subs? Also that you have a HU kit for the dash? And a fuse for your power wire?

Stuff I would recommend having:

1. A sheet of MDF (at least 3' x 3')

2. A saw, preferably powered. If a hand saw, I might recommend just some pine or something instead of MDF, as MDF is not easy to cut by hand!

3. A drill.

4. Velcro strips. Something like Velcro One-Wrap. At the least, you want something to stick on your sub box to keep it anchored to your trunk, unless you are screwing it down.

5. A coat hanger (for poking holes/running cable).

6. A can of silicon spray (to lube up the cables -- mainly the power wire as you try to get it through the rubber grommet to the outside).

Tips: