7th Generation Civic 2001 - 2005 In the years from 2001 to 2005 Honda released it's 7th Generation Civic.
Chassis codes: EM2, ES1, EP3, EU1
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Weird electrical/ misfire issue

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2018
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Dekk70 is an unknown quantity at this point
Weird electrical/ misfire issue

Sorry for the long post but I want to be thorough. I'm new to these cars. Bought my 05 HX a few months ago for the fuel mileage and now I'm running into a problem I cannot find.
It all started when i screwed up and forgot to put the radiator cap back on. I made it to work without issue but on the way home it started blowing steam out of the hood and overheated. I shut it down ASAP and cruised to the shoulder. I poured in a few half empty bottles of water I had laying in the car and tried to start it and it would not. Kept looking for issues and couldnt find anything so finally I closed the hood and called for a ride. Just for kicks I thought id try to start it and it fired right up. As I limped it the 2 miles to the next town for more coolant it was missing like crazy. Got to the store and added about a half gallon of coolant and went to start it to try to work any air bubbles out and it would not. Remembering the hood issue I closed it and it fired right up but when I popped the hood the idle went up and was uneven. I finished topping it up and closed the hood and it went to normal. As I drove home it still had the bad misfire but about 20 min in it cleaned up. I figured something was just wet and causing an issue and dried up.
This morning I left for work and it was missing again so i turned back to try to fix it. I cant find anything. Later in the day i went for a ride and it ran fine. then a couple hours later i left again and it ran terribly and several lights on the cluster flash when it is missing. So does anyone have any clue what i could be looking at.
Old 03-20-2018
Registered!!