8th & 9th Generation Civic 2006 - 2015 9th Gen 2012 - 2015.
8th Gen 2006 - 2011.
9th Gen Chassis Codes: FB2, FB4, FB6, FG 3, FG4.
8th Gen Chassis Codes: FG1, FG2, FA1, FA3, FA5.

2006 Civic Brake Questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2014
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
mustang65fbk is an unknown quantity at this point
2006 Civic Brake Questions

Hello all, I'm new to the honda forums and this is my first post so go easy on me. I have a 2006 honda civic ex 2dr with just over 100k miles. I'm the second owner of the car, I believe these are the original brakes and the car is bone stock with no upgrades of any kind as it is just a daily driver. I heard a whining sound near the passenger side rear wheel so I took it to Les Schwab to get a free brake inspection. Anyhow, the guy at Les Schwab said I needed new brake calipers? Now I always thought it was more of a get new brake pads and possibly rotors if they're warped or any metal on metal? At least that's how it is for my mustang. The guy said the right rear was at 1mm left for what I'm guessing he meant as pads and the left rear was at 3mm left. So are the pads unable to be attached from the calipers and do I actually need new ones or? Either way, I'll probably do the brakes myself but wanted to make sure there wasn't some reason as to why I needed to get new calipers if I actually need them. The other thing that makes me think foul play is that they said the rotors looked good but they wouldn't be able to tell for sure until they started the brake job. Maybe they want to try and pressure you when you bring in the car for repairs? I don't know. Anyway, thanks for any input.

- Blair
Old 02-21-2014
"Honda - tried, true & tested...!"

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
brags is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: 2006 Civic Brake Questions

the garage you whent to may be taking you for a ride.
simply jack the rear up of your car place jackstands underneath release