General Honda Civic Forum Archive. The archive is dedicated to storing threads for research purposes only, please place questions in their appropriate forum.

VAFC-->No VTEC Settings?

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2003
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
nengneng is an unknown quantity at this point
VAFC-->No VTEC Settings?

[IMG]i/expressions/face-icon-small-disgusted.gif[/IMG] I read the earlier posts about how apexi hasn't release settings or instructions on how to utilize the vtec engagement settings. So if I buy the VAFC and install it, then what settings can I change? I am a rookie, so please educate me. If I buy a VAFC, is that just as good or better as reprogramming my ecu. The way it sounds to me is the VAFC is better, allowing 4 different fuel maps! You guys tell me. Also, I have basic bolt ons: CAI, Header, Exhaust, Camgear-->Pully Kit. Waiting for JunUSA camshaft, my buddy called them today, and they are still testing. Maybe in 2 months. So, if I get VAFC, and Apex release VTEC info, could I jack up my engine? Detonate or something? I am just talking worst case. And with just those boltons I described above, how much horsepower can I gain with the AFC. Sorry so long-winded guys. All feedback greatly appreciated!
Old 03-12-2003
Registered!!

01civicboi is an unknown quantity at this point
just out of curiosity, how are you getting a JUNusa camshaft? JUNusa has already closed down and the only way to get JUN parts is to get them directly from Japan.
I only ask this since i've been communicating with a JUN mechanic in Japan (not about my civic of course)

EDIT: in regard to your question, the V-AFC allows you to modify your air/fuel settings and VTEC engagement
Old 03-13-2003
Registered!!

03_silver_ex is an unknown quantity at this point