General Honda Civic Forum Archive. The archive is dedicated to storing threads for research purposes only, please place questions in their appropriate forum.

Advice on repair

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2010
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Dntn is an unknown quantity at this point
Advice on repair

This seemed like the best place for this question, and I'm a total noob here, and with cars in general, so please don't flame me. I drive (drove) a 2001 civic, but recently wrecked it. To get it back to drivable, I need to replace the radiator. I got the hood and a couple other things off, but this is what it looks like.

Do you think it is possible to straighten that bar or whatever out? And if not, where can I buy a new one. Also, what should i look up to find them for sale and to get an estimate of price online.

Thanks in advance. I need all the advice I can get!
Old 07-17-2010
Live for the Twisties
Administrator

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
MindBomber has much to be proud ofMindBomber has much to be proud ofMindBomber has much to be proud ofMindBomber has much to be proud ofMindBomber has much to be proud ofMindBomber has much to be proud ofMindBomber has much to be proud ofMindBomber has much to be proud ofMindBomber has much to be proud ofMindBomber has much to be proud ofMindBomber has much to be proud of
Re: Advice on repair

Theres no way you'll be able to straighten out the radiator support, thats severe damage. Without going outside and taking a look at my car, I think think the radiator supports are bolted on.That being said, buying a rad support online isn't a good idea. Its a big heavy metal part that is rarely replaced, so even if you found it online it would be way overpriced and cost ship. Just go to a scrap yard and you'll be able to get a rad support there.
Old 07-17-2010
Registered!!