Fuel, Oil, Cleaners & Other Maintenance Extending the life of your Civic requires the proper fuel, oil, and cleaners, along with other regularly scheduled maintenance.

Auto RX Arrived Today!

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2012
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
PacosTacos88 is an unknown quantity at this point
Auto RX Arrived Today!

Gonna be starting up my first AutoRX treatment here this afternoon.

Some background info:
2001 Civic EX
240,000 miles (will update with exact number when I go down to my car)
Burns some oil. Uses about 2 qts every 3k miles
At 1500 miles, the oil is pitch black
I'm a pizza hut delivery driver (fun and easy job while going to school), so the miles shouldn't take long at all to accumulate

The instructions I'll be following are for the high mileage application.

The application instructions from their site is as follows:

STEP 1 Add 1 full bottle of Auto-Rx to a fresh oil change, with a new oil filter installed.
STEP 2 Drive your vehicle for 3000 miles.
STEP 3 Drain the oil, change the filter, and refill with motor oil, only.
STEP 4 This begins the 3,000-mile rinse phase. Drive the car as you would normally to fulfill the 3,000-mile rinse.
NOTE:
Heavily sludged motors will require more than one application. Run one oil change interval (OCI) with just oil (no Auto-Rx) before starting the second application.
In severely sludged motors, it may be necessary to change out the oil filter halfway through the application.
For high mileage vehicles, we recommend a second application also.

I'll try to keep this updated with every oil change (oil color, oil loss, etc..) and first impressions (if any).
Old 08-31-2012
Premium Member
Hey! Look At Me!! I'm a Supporting Member!!

Received 18 Likes on 13 Posts