Fuel, Oil, Cleaners & Other Maintenance Extending the life of your Civic requires the proper fuel, oil, and cleaners, along with other regularly scheduled maintenance.

Evap system issues

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2012
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
nkm1976 is an unknown quantity at this point
Evap system issues

Hello all, I am new to all this. I have a 04 civic and have noticed a strong raw fuel smell after I park my car in the garage at the end of the day. I don't smell it when driving or in the morning after it is parked. Only at the end of the day. I had it checked out by a mechanic and they ran a evap test, where they pumped it full of smoke to determine if there were any leaks. They didn't see any leaks. They said it could be my vapor canister.. I told them that I always fuel a little more after the pump has clicked off. I had to canister replaced and I still smell the fuel. Just would like to get some other opinions as to what else it could possibly be?

Thank you,
Old 08-04-2012
Registered!!

palsana is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Evap system issues

is cel on ? does it show p1505. Other than smell any other functional distractions.(car shaking.noises, rattling).
Old 08-04-2012
Registered!!

It has been running a little rough, but I was also told that I am need of a new battery. So I was thinking the roughness was due to an old battery. Not sure about the code. When they replaced the canister, they said fuel came out, and it was saturated. Just trying to save money by narrowing it down.
Old 08-04-2012
Prelude Owner

Received 303 Likes on 214 Posts
GolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to behold