7th Generation Civic 2001 - 2005 In the years from 2001 to 2005 Honda released it's 7th Generation Civic.
Chassis codes: EM2, ES1, EP3, EU1
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

2005 Honda Civic Upgrade Help!

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2010
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Pandaryder is an unknown quantity at this point
2005 Honda Civic Upgrade Help!

So, I'm a fairly new driver. I've had my license for almost a year now and have been driving my Civic for a little over a year. I drive a 2005 Honda Civic Value Package. If you haven't heard of it, it's basically a bare bones vehicles with Air Conditioning...everything is manual, except the transmission. Well, it has a D17A1 engine and it's completely stock. Well, now that that's cleared up, I have a few questions.

1) Would a Cold Air Intake improve my acceleration by much? I was thinking about getting an AEM V2 Cold Air Intake since it's the easiest thing to install and it makes the car sound better.

2) Would an exhaust be better to get? I'm trying to go for a Naturally Aspirated setup...I'm pretty sure

3) Are there any other upgrades I can get to get my car from 115hp to about 140hp without spending an assload of money? My budget is around $300-$500?

4) Would tires and rims be better? I would go as big as 17" if that's the case. I'm riding on stock 14" hubs with average width tires.

5) Is there a reason why people don't fix up VP Civics, other than the fact that it's manual everything? I would imagine that would be the kind of thing to bring out the inner ricer. Lol.

Thank You.
Old 03-16-2010
Registered!!

Awjvail is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: 2005 Honda Civic Upgrade Help!

No, nothing can bring your HP up that much with that sort of budget.

Bolt ons such as intake, exhaust, etc only add like 3 HP. They don't do anything but look/sound nice.
Old 03-16-2010
Registered!!

Pandaryder is an unknown quantity at this point