7th Generation Civic 2001 - 2005 In the years from 2001 to 2005 Honda released it's 7th Generation Civic.
Chassis codes: EM2, ES1, EP3, EU1
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Please help!!!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2012
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
~T.O.W~ is an unknown quantity at this point
Please help!!!!!!

Hi all

First off let me explain that i have very little to no car knowledge or experience,aside from the basic understanding of the parts and what not. And im am new to this forum so I apologize if i posted this in the Wrong area

My Car is a 2002 Honda civic DX Manual trans. Roughly 87,000 Miles on it

Now here's my Issue,Recently I've noticed the smell of Exhaust Fumes in my car while driving " with the windows rolled up " And turning on the Fan only makes the smell stronger inside. When i roll my windows down and drive for a sec or two the smell Goes almost completely away.. also when Im IN Neutral at a red light the smell is faint but still there. Here's another thing that Might also be apart of the problem... from a stopped position,as i let the clutch out and give it some gas it Makes a kinda faint sputtering sound along side the Sound of a Normal Revving engine..the faint sputtering sound to me, resembles like an Idling Old fashioned Bug..And it only seems to make the sound when in gear and I apply the Gas..If i Rev the Engine outa gear it sounds like a normal Healthy Motor Normally does

So can these two issues be linked to the same problem? or do i Have 2 sets of issues? Also no check engine or Maintenance required lights are on
Old 05-05-2012
Registered!!

iridehonda is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Please help!!!!!!

Sounds like an exhaust leak.
Old 05-05-2012
Registered!!

Originally Posted by iridehonda
Sounds like an exhaust leak.
where is the question that's rattling around in ma brain...Have any idea's as to where i should start?
Old 05-05-2012
If you think a good mechanic is expensive, try hiring a bad one