General Honda Civic Forum Archive. The archive is dedicated to storing threads for research purposes only, please place questions in their appropriate forum.

Adding Air intake

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2008
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Scorvus is an unknown quantity at this point
Adding Air intake

A friend of mine said I could add an aftermarket Air intake for my new civic si and it will add power and make better gas milage. Is this true? I thought if I changed anything it would mess with the tuning? Someone help me out, I'm a noob when it comes to upgrading cars. I would want to add a little bit of power and better gas milage if possible.
Old 05-14-2008
This is Myspace

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
DsevenEm2 is a splendid one to beholdDsevenEm2 is a splendid one to beholdDsevenEm2 is a splendid one to beholdDsevenEm2 is a splendid one to beholdDsevenEm2 is a splendid one to beholdDsevenEm2 is a splendid one to beholdDsevenEm2 is a splendid one to beholdDsevenEm2 is a splendid one to beholdDsevenEm2 is a splendid one to beholdDsevenEm2 is a splendid one to behold
Re: Adding Air intake

Tuning refers to the motor being tweaked, worked on, or designed differently to make it just right. Anything to help the engine breath better, and get air into the combustion chamber more efficiently, would be considered positive tuning. An intake usually increases the velocity of the air traveling into the intake manifold, this helps smooth out the powerband, also with a larger intake chamber, more air will be able to enter the combustion chamber.

So yes, it should add some power on your si. Probably not a mind blowing amount, so dont keep your expectations high, but it should smooth out the powerband, give the engine a nice tone to it after a certain RPMs and increase your gas milage if your foot isnt on it too hard to hear the cool sound it makes. Good luck!