Honda Civic Forum

Honda Civic Forum (https://www.civicforums.com/forums/)
-   Suspension Performance Modifications (https://www.civicforums.com/forums/44-suspension-performance-modifications)
-   -   Tein Stech lowering springs (https://www.civicforums.com/forums/44-suspension-performance-modifications/331730-tein-stech-lowering-springs.html)

03civiclxcoupe 09-06-2010 10:15 AM

Tein Stech lowering springs

I am thinking about lowering my car with Tein Stechs want to give about 1.5 drop. I was wonder if anyone on this forum has Tein Stech lowering springs on without camber kits and how long did your stock shotcks/struts last. Also i am going to be lowered on 16s. Is it necessary to have camber kits? Keep in mind im new to the lowering springs and stuff, and i am having this guy that lives 20mins away from me do it for about $150 he is a dsmbuilder and does all kinds of cars, recently he just lowered my friend lancer.

Did anyone run into any trouble when trying to take Struts apart?

xRiCeBoYx 09-06-2010 10:22 AM

Re: Tein Stech lowering springs

I installed a camber kit right away, so I don't know about how long your tires would last. For an extra $150 or so bucks, I'd grab a camber kit so you don't spend an extra $600 on tires. As for running them on stock shocks, I ran them for a year on stock struts. As soon as I swapped for tokico blues, however, the ride quality got so much better. So, for the sake of not spending hella money up front, I'd say you could run them on stock struts for a little while, but at least tokico blues would be the next thing i'd save up for.

Only trouble I had taking struts apart was getting the damn tie rod end out of the front struts. When I went to adjust my current suspension (Tein SS-P coilovers) my tie rod ends were stuck in my struts, and I had to fashion a breaker bar to extend my tie rod end separator.