Honda Civic Forum

Honda Civic Forum (https://www.civicforums.com/forums/)
-   Engine (https://www.civicforums.com/forums/329-engine)
-   -   Drivability issues (https://www.civicforums.com/forums/329-engine/374389-drivability-issues.html)

vboss5764 09-14-2018 10:44 PM

Drivability issues

I'm working on the 01 Civic for a friend, timing belt broke, I have it all back together with new valves, good comp, idle is ok but can't get passed 3K RPM, at idle or in gear driving, seems like it hits fuel cut or rev limiter. Or maybe its in limp mode? I'm not that knowledgeable on Honda specifics but I'm a retired mechanic relic from the carb days with updated schooling. There is a CEL but my scanner is loaned out, I'll have to go the parts store.

sdaidoji 09-15-2018 06:37 AM

Re: Drivability issues

check oil levels if car is a EX.
then check codes

ezone 09-15-2018 10:15 AM

Need to find out the fault codes.

Slumpertcivic 09-15-2018 10:58 AM

Woot, we need to guess..
I guess you unplugged the cam sensor even though you shouldn’t and you didn’t blast the hell out of it and the pigtail with electrical contact cleaner before plugging it back in.

vboss5764 09-16-2018 10:30 PM

Originally Posted by Slumpertcivic (Post 4751750)
Woot, we need to guess..
I guess you unplugged the cam sensor even though you shouldn’t and you didn’t blast the hell out of it and the pigtail with electrical contact cleaner before plugging it back in.

Kinda of hard to replace the head without unplugging things...don't you think. No need to guess, I can do that with out help. Just thought there was a specific reason for the 3K limit.

ezone 09-17-2018 12:02 AM

Originally Posted by Slumpertcivic (Post 4751750)
Woot, we need to guess..

Originally Posted by vboss5764 (Post 4751829)
Kinda of hard to replace the head without unplugging things...don't you think. No need to guess, I can do that with out help.

Guys, it's the crank sensor that shouldn't be unplugged during work if at all possible.