Honda Civic Forum

Honda Civic Forum (https://www.civicforums.com/forums/)
-   Engine Performance Modifications (https://www.civicforums.com/forums/222-engine-performance-modifications)
-   -   Losing power? (https://www.civicforums.com/forums/222-engine-performance-modifications/322568-losing-power.html)

BlueSi321 10-12-2009 04:13 PM

Losing power?

I have a jackson charger on my '00 Si and I think I'm losing power. I was wondering if it had anything to do with my muffler having a pretty good size hole in it, or something to do with my o2 sensor? Or if it would be the tuning on the charger itself. Because I noticed a significant change in the power in my car the other night when running high rpm's. I lost to a stock '02 si hatch with a k20 motor... and I honestly don't think I should have lost if my charger was running correctly..

What do you all think? I'm fairly new with this car and everything on it.. so any help is appreciated.

Clay

BlueSi321 10-12-2009 04:19 PM

Re: Losing power?

Oh and could changing the type of oil be the problem? Because just before noticing this, I had my oil changed from regular to synthetic...

gearbox 10-12-2009 04:37 PM

its possible the oil had something to do with it if it happened suddenly after changing it. usually small exhaust hole wouldnt do anything, as long as its after the o2 sensors. and double check your tune, make sure the fuel maps didnt change.

ronaldo9 10-12-2009 07:04 PM

If everything is intact minus your hole, I'd look at the tune. Do you have a wideband? What fuel management system are you running? W/o knowing how much boost you are running or what you're tuned for its quite possible you could lose to a stock k20(a2), since you could potentially be putting down the same power to the ground.

BlueSi321 10-12-2009 07:28 PM

Originally Posted by ronaldo9 (Post 4439936)