Engine Swaps Post information/questions about Engine Swaps here!

K24A1 EM2 Build: The Other K-Swap

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2013
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Speed9117 will become famous soon enough
K24A1 EM2 Build: The Other K-Swap

Well, I have been collecting parts for a K-swap for a few months now and I finally have enough stuff to start prepping for the swap itself. I figured now would be as good time as ever to start a build thread and document the swap process. I realize there are other DIY threads on this (DA9_GSR and Erik), but I wasn't able to find anything on the stock k24 swap so I figured I would document and consolidate what I learn during my swap.

So to start, here's the car in it's current-ish state. I flog the crap out of my car in autocross and manage to keep up with some much more expensive, much higher performance cars. It's always fun beating people with a $5000 turd.

Name:  DSC_0024_zps21e29b45.jpg
Views: 22105
Size:  55.0 KB

So, on to the swap. A combination of finally having some free time, disposable income, and friends to push me into a swap finally got the ball rolling. I had never really considered a swap before because it was prohibitively expensive, but when researching, the k24a1 (or a4) swap looked like it could be done on the cheap. This Honda Tuning article does a good job of outlining the Accord k24a4 swap for a DC/EG chassis Honda.

http://www.hondatuningmagazine.com/t...p/viewall.html

I chose to go with the k24a1 swap instead because the CRV motor has a few advantages over the a4. For one, the TSX head is a direct swap if you want moar power later. There are a couple other things I may update later that I can't remember now.