Honda Civic Racing: Drift/Drag/AutoX/Time Attack There are different setups needed if you are using your civic for drifting, drag or track racing

looking to tune..but how much?!?!

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2010
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
AdamMelcher1 is an unknown quantity at this point
looking to tune..but how much?!?!

Hey guys!!!

So I am new to the tuning scene and am wanting to tune my 99 civic DX rightly. Now everything is just stock with a short-ram intake, but I want to switch it for a cold air and new exhaust system. But I have a couple of questions...

For the CAI:

1.) I have seen some for as cheap as $69 and others for as much as $200+ and it looks like that each one is bent differently so that it would position in a different spot in my car. Which ones (brand) would fit directly in front of my bumper so I wouldn't have to cut a hole and which brand really is the best for a low-budget tuner???

For the Exhaust system:

1.) right now I don't have enough $ to switch out the headers so should i just wait and do the swap all at one time? I would like to keep a cat-converter on it just for emissions sake,and which Exhaust system sounds smooth and at the same time would give me some good gains in HP?? I hear that Magna-flows cat back is a good system...any opinions on that?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated...
Old 01-19-2010
Premium Member
Hey! Look At Me!! I'm a Supporting Member!!

Received 18 Likes on 13 Posts
gearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond reputegearbox has a reputation beyond repute
Re: looking to tune..but how much?!?!