Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Clicking noise when letting off gas pedal

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2017
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Zachs_weeney is an unknown quantity at this point
Exclamation Clicking noise when letting off gas pedal

Hey guys, this is my first time posting on here so I hope I’m not breaking any rules.. 😅
I have a 2001 Honda Civic EX 4sp automatic (built in Japan if that matters) with a little over 235,000 miles. Bought it with 217,000 and has run exceptionally well since I’ve had it. New timing belt at 214,000 miles, new water pump and a few other things around the same time.
Being 19 and living 3 hours from my family and any financial help, I’ve been concerned about a noise I’ve been hearing for the last few months.
Most of the time (not every time, however) I let off my gas pedal, usually when going at a lower speed, I hear a clicking noise that I believe is coming from the back of my car although I’m not positive. It also sometimes happens when my car shifts from 2nd to 3rd gear. I’ve done a lot of research and I’m guessing it may have something to do with the throttle body, but being as I know next to nothing about cars I’m not sure.
Has anyone else experienced this? My car still runs just fine, still gets roughly 30mpg even at such high mileage and has never had any problems starting or accelerating. I replaced the front struts, valve cover gasket and radiator in March. My concern is that it could possibly have something to do with the transmission, in which case I simply can’t afford to repair it since it would probably cost more than the value of my car to fix (if the tranny is going out). Could this be a simple fix or something more serious?