Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

D17A7 CNG engine converted to Petrol knocking issue

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2017
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
honda_civic_05 is an unknown quantity at this point
D17A7 CNG engine converted to Petrol knocking issue

I am total noob when it comes to engines and performance.

I have swapped my D15Y3 with D17A7 non vtec in Civic 2005. As you might know better that D17A7 is from Civic GX which is a CNG engine with 12.5:1 compression. We converted it to petrol, used injector rail, throttle body, transmission, ecu and headers of old engine D15Y3. We don't have O2 sensors in this model in our country, moreover ECU don't have knock sensor option.

Engine is in great shape and giving overall excellent performance, the only issue which I am facing is knocking. I am using 95 Octane, but still its knocking during quick acceleration. My mechanic is suggesting to retard the timing to fix knocking.

Experts, please suggest what are my options to fix the knocking problem and how we can get maximum power out of this engine.
Old 03-08-2017
If you think a good mechanic is expensive, try hiring a bad one

Received 250 Likes on 182 Posts
ezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond reputeezone has a reputation beyond repute
Re: D17A7 CNG engine converted to Petrol knocking issue

Lean rattle? Fuel delivery may be a big problem (lean in open loop and max load).....Bigger engine needs more fuel then the smaller engine did.....so...