General Automotive Discussion General automotive discussion and chat. Honda, Toyota, Chevrolet, Ford. It doesn't matter, just talk about it here.

Heat issues w/ 02 LX Sedan......

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2007
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Juddrock is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Heat issues w/ 02 LX Sedan......

What's up. I am a newbie to the forum looking for some help.

I have an 02 LX Sedan, and when I have it switched to the heat/def. mode it blows cool air while idle, but as soon as I touch the accelerator it heats up instanly, then cools off again when I let out of the accel. ?? I'm puzzled!

I did notice while under the hood that the A/C compressor kicks on frequently while switched to heat/def. mode. Is this normal? I know that the A/C light always displays while in def. mode, but should the compressor kick on so frequently??

Help me out if you are familiar with this problem.

Thanks, J. McNabb
Old 12-12-2007
Banned

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
greeen01civic4d is a splendid one to beholdgreeen01civic4d is a splendid one to beholdgreeen01civic4d is a splendid one to beholdgreeen01civic4d is a splendid one to beholdgreeen01civic4d is a splendid one to beholdgreeen01civic4d is a splendid one to beholdgreeen01civic4d is a splendid one to beholdgreeen01civic4d is a splendid one to beholdgreeen01civic4d is a splendid one to beholdgreeen01civic4d is a splendid one to beholdgreeen01civic4d is a splendid one to behold
Re: Heat issues w/ 02 LX Sedan......

well, its possible your thermostat is stuck open, check the temp gauge when this is going on, if its low, then ur thermostat is stuck, if not, it could be a heater core problem, and also on 01-02 the ac is turned on automatically when the def. is turned on, there is no getting around it, so compressor will kick on frequently when def is on honda changed this in 03
Old 12-12-2007
Registered!!