General Automotive Discussion General automotive discussion and chat. Honda, Toyota, Chevrolet, Ford. It doesn't matter, just talk about it here.

Porsche as a company and the 911 as a car.

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2006
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
thegent is an unknown quantity at this point
Porsche as a company and the 911 as a car.

I keep wondering what makes the 911 so special as a car and how come Porsche as a company is praised by everyone. I know a Ferrari has the latest F1 technology under the hood, a Honda will last decades, Rolls-Royce makes heavy, imposing cars which also last decades... What's so special about Porsche?

As a total Porsche noob, I don't know why I would pay high dollar amounts for a 911 when I can have a G35 coupe for half the price? Any Porsche maniacs on this site who'd like to show me the extra premium is worh it ?
Old 02-26-2006
Drunken Master-7thgen Ninja

MajinB is a splendid one to beholdMajinB is a splendid one to beholdMajinB is a splendid one to beholdMajinB is a splendid one to beholdMajinB is a splendid one to beholdMajinB is a splendid one to beholdMajinB is a splendid one to beholdMajinB is a splendid one to beholdMajinB is a splendid one to beholdMajinB is a splendid one to behold
status symbol dude. thats about it.
Old 02-26-2006
Back From The Banned!

CuRiOuSfIsH is just really niceCuRiOuSfIsH is just really niceCuRiOuSfIsH is just really niceCuRiOuSfIsH is just really nice
i'm not a Porsche maniac but ppl that buy a Porsche 911 and G35 are no always the same croud. Ppl that buy Porsches to DRIVE them, get a simple driver oriented car. Ppl that buy Porsche for the name well...... status symbol as MajinB said. Porsche is by no means the fastest car for the $, but Porsche heritage, exhaust note of a flat 6, design/style may be worth it. It's kind of like explaining why someone should buy an NSX.
Old 02-26-2006
Registered!!

EuroEMII is an unknown quantity at this point