Bolt-on Engine Performance Post questions/information about intakes, exhausts, headers, lightweight pulleys or flywheels? It belongs here.

Stock Exhaust?

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2014
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
yajstylez is an unknown quantity at this point
Stock Exhaust?

My car sounds low/loud as if there's some kind exhaust system, but as a noob, I am not sure at all what part exactly has been changed and what exactly to get, to get back in stock specs (I don't want the low/loud noise and mainly because I have kids). Any suggestions/advice? Are autozone's mufflers/exhaust loud or are they stock specs (quiet noise like stock?). The quieter the better. (2001 Honda Civic Coupe LX)

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

Name:  20140330_153649_zps3be6e6f9.jpg
Views: 377
Size:  64.3 KB

I know, ghettoly put-on muffler tip.

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

Last edited by yajstylez; 03-31-2014 at 09:19 AM.
Old 03-31-2014
Prelude Owner

Received 303 Likes on 214 Posts
GolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to beholdGolNat is a splendid one to behold
Re: Stock Exhaust?

It looks like you just have an aftermarket muffler. You could also have an exhaust leak causing the excessive noise. Take it to a muffler shop, they can look for leaks and supply you with a new quieter muffler if that is what is causing the extra noise. If you are a DIYer you could buy your own muffler, I would get an OE one from a junk yard or buy a replacement online. Before dong that check for leaks though.