Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

1998 Civic Ex Coupe Non-vtec automatic P0335

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2017
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Malaci is an unknown quantity at this point
1998 Civic Ex Coupe Non-vtec automatic P0335

Hello everyone, I'm new to the Forum and am in quite a pickle. I am a delivery driver and I have been having some problems recently that have got my mind blown. I'm no mechanic by any stretch of the imagination, but I know my way around. Problems started when my car cut off randomly while driving, specifically breaking. Check engine light came on and I immediately took it to AutoZone to get the code read. I got P0335. I should also mention that the battery needed to be replaced. I replaced the battery and it ran fine for about an hour. After that it went back into limp mode and the check engine light came back on. I took it to my mechanic after buying a crankshaft position sensor, he put the sensor on and the problem still exists. I replaced spark plugs, spark plug wires, cleaned the throttle body, had the timing checked, checked voltage for all of the wires connecting to the sensor and to the ECU, no issue with any of that. On a slight hunch, I did an oil change, still running into the same problem. The car runs great after it has been sitting all night and I first crank it up to go to work. By the time I get to work and head out for my first delivery, bam, limp mode again. The car hesitates to start and that's how I know it has gone back into limp mode. I cannot reach over 3600 RPMs and gas mileage is dropped drastically. When it cranks up on the first turn I know it is out of limp mode. Funny thing, as long as I have the heat running full blast and through all available vents, the car does not cut off and will stay out of limp mode for the most part, but only at