Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Ticking and squealing noise

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2011
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
bymitten is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Ticking and squealing noise

Hello,

I'm a newbie when it comes to cars so easy on me if I reply with a stupid response. lol Anyways, I own a 2001 Honda Civic w/ an automatic transmission.

Problem #1: Car makes a ticking noise (sounds like a woodpecker) whenever I press the accelerator.

When the car is idle, in park, neutral or coasting, there is no ticking noise. And it only seems to happen shortly after starting my car and stops after about 10-20 minutes of driving on side roads. After driving on the highway for a while, there is no ticking at all after this.

A mechanic told me it could be the pistons. Over time they have worn out and have play within them. After the car has warmed up, the metal expands and there isn't any play for the pistons to knock around. Though, I find this hard to believe if it only happens when I'm in drive.

Problem #2: A squealing noise after starting the car and sometimes when I press the accelerator to fast.

It's more noticeable when it has rained or is just damp out. I was thinking it has something to do with one of the belts ... ?? *shrugs* Or maybe both problems correlate with one another.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. You guys have always been able to help me out in the past!

Last edited by bymitten; 10-11-2011 at 08:11 PM. Reason: Added car info
Old 10-11-2011
Registered!!

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts