Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

2009 Honda Civic DX fuel mileage concerns..

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2013
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
ericgray1 is an unknown quantity at this point
2009 Honda Civic DX fuel mileage concerns..

So I bought a 2009 Honda Civic DX with auto transmission, with 62k on it. I have been driving it for about 2 months now. I changed the oil in it (the old oil showed no signs of issues, basically normal). I changed the spark plugs to the Bosch Platinum 4 (just because I like to know everything is in good shape). Changed the air filter (old air filter was actually clean, but I did change it with FRAM anyways).

Anyhow the engine runs great. No noises. No leaks anywhere. No issues that I can see. Its super clean. The check engine light is not on. It idles like it should.

Now, I drive about 120 miles round trip to work a day. 60 miles in one direction and that is basically all interstate driving and I drive at 70mph with the cruise control set.

A couple of things to note: I pulled the hubcap steelies off of it and put some 17" wheels on it that I had on a previous vehicle with brand new 225/45/17 tires, The 17s felt lighter than the steelies.

Now I am big into monitoring fuel mileage. Right now I am averaging 30-33 mpg and even less with city driving. I am getting about 330 miles out of a tank and it religiously only holds approximately 11 gallons when I fill it up when it gets to empty. I was expecting this thing to get 38+ mpg. What is the deal? My mother in law's v6 accord gets better gas mileage than I do. I had an 04 honda civic that was getting 38+ mpg as well.
Old 12-07-2013
Prelude Owner

Received 303 Likes on 214 Posts