6th Generation Civic 1996 - 2000 In the years from 1996 to 2000 Honda released it's 6th Generation Civic.
Chassis codes: EK9, EK4, EK3, EJ6, EJ8, EJ9, EM1

Tire Rubbing - 225/45/17 Tires/17" Rims - Please Help...

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2009
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
theNumber23 is an unknown quantity at this point
Tire Rubbing - 225/45/17 Tires/17" Rims - Please Help...

hi guys, i'm new here and obviously a newb. anyway, i've got a 98' coupe that i just bought some new rims and tires for: 225/45/17 Nexen n7000 on 17" MSR rims (black with red stripe).

i'm having some problems with the tires rubbing, which i didn't anticipate on the stock suspension (maybe that makes me a complete newb?). anyway, i didn't realize how big everything was till i got them on there (i made the purchase off of craigslist). i just figured that as long as the car wasn't lowered, i'd have nothing to worry about, despite the tires being pretty big.

i've had lowered cars in the past and didn't want to sacrifice the smoothness of the ride [ever] again, and i figured the largeness of the wheels would fill in some of the wheel well gap which i think is a better look. i mean, i've had 18" rims on an rsx before where i couldn't fit a single finger in the wheel well gap, and had no problems with the ride. then again, i had one of best set of springs out there (Tein), but i really don't know what is what when it comes to cars. the springs and rims were already on that car when i bought it.

anyway i love the way they look and i want to keep them, so i've got to figure out a way to make this work, and i need some help. i'm also going to post some pictures just in case anyone is interested.