6th Generation Civic 1996 - 2000 In the years from 1996 to 2000 Honda released it's 6th Generation Civic.
Chassis codes: EK9, EK4, EK3, EJ6, EJ8, EJ9, EM1

Convert an air conditioner pump to air compressor!?

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2011
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
danwat12345 has a spectacular aura aboutdanwat12345 has a spectacular aura about
Convert an air conditioner pump to air compressor!?

Hello,
I have train horns on my civic, and I'd like to see if it is possible to convert an air conditioner pump that's designed for my 1999 honda civic to an air compressor to fill up my air tank.
Someone is trying to do it on their vehicle here. http://www.trainhornforums.com/showt...newpost&t=5313

My car didn't come with air conditioning, so I'd first need to know the model# of the pump I need that is designed for the mounts on the engine and for the pulley system.. (I'm no auto mechanic) and buy it.

Then, I'd need to somehow keep it lubricated without spitting oil into the air tank. An "Inline tool oiler"?
I'd also need to know how to hook this up to my 110/150PSI pressure switch
Thoughts? Can I buy this ready-made??

EDIT:
I have heard that York compressors are the best for converting to an air compressor because they are already designed to be lubricated with oil and come with an oil resovoir. Are there any mounting kits out there to fit a York compressor on a Civic?

EDIT2:
Can some of you open up the hood of your cars (with the d16y7 engine) and tell me the model# of the Denso or Sanden compressor that you have? I need to find the model numbers so I can order one, although I may go to the junk yard to get it because then I could get the mounting bracket stuff too.

EDIT3:
OK, so the d16y7 can take a Sanden TRS090. It's a scroll type compressor. Is that better than the piston type? I need 4 bolts to bolt the compressor to the engine, what bolts do I need? I also need a belt, which I'm searching for on the net now.
What about Denso?

EDIT4: