7th Generation Civic 2001 - 2005 In the years from 2001 to 2005 Honda released it's 7th Generation Civic.
Chassis codes: EM2, ES1, EP3, EU1
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

engine rattle noise @ 2k RPM plus stalls

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2016
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ahboy94 is an unknown quantity at this point
engine rattle noise @ 2k RPM plus stalls

alright guys, i'm still a newb and i'm stuck. I have a '03 ES1 that ran fine until i took it on the highway yesterday (not the cars first time on the highway)
after about an hour and a half of driving, the car stalls in neutral. i stopped at walmart and topped off my oil and starting playing with the car to find out the rattle is at 2k RPM and its a loud rattle from the motor. going down the highway back home after that the motor started to shake a bit so i put it in neutral and it stalled of course, then didnt want to start. it cranked slowly. waiting for tow i had my friend jump me and it started up eventually. the rattle got worst still at 2k RPM.... i'm stuck and broke due to the tow. Any tips?
Old 07-12-2016
"Marge, anyone could miss Canada! All tucked away down there."

Received 1,126 Likes on 941 Posts
Colin42 is a name known to allColin42 is a name known to allColin42 is a name known to allColin42 is a name known to allColin42 is a name known to allColin42 is a name known to allColin42 is a name known to all
Re: engine rattle noise @ 2k RPM plus stalls

Originally Posted by Ahboy94
topped off my oil
How much did you have to add?
Old 07-12-2016
Registered!!

Reverb2005 is a glorious beacon of lightReverb2005 is a glorious beacon of lightReverb2005 is a glorious beacon of lightReverb2005 is a glorious beacon of lightReverb2005 is a glorious beacon of lightReverb2005 is a glorious beacon of light

So you have an electrical power issue (you needed to have it jumped?) and you are hearing rattling?