General Honda Civic Forum Archive. The archive is dedicated to storing threads for research purposes only, please place questions in their appropriate forum.

Low City MPG From my New Civic Hybrid

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2007
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
jlpcivic is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Low City MPG From my New Civic Hybrid

I am new to Honda as well as to Hybrid technology and have a question? I purchased a new Civic Hybrid recently strictly due to the mileage ratings. On the drive home from purchase I got a respectable 50 mpg (approximately 350 miles of driving). Since that time I have driven approximately 150 miles, all in town driving, and have been averaging only 30 mpg. Should I be concerned at this point?
Thanks JLP
Old 08-18-2007
hvc
Registered!!

hvc is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Low City MPG From my New Civic Hybrid

when you drive in the city, the stop and go, or whatever, doesn't allow you to achieve your 50MPG, which is why you get only 30-40. When you did achieve 50MPG, you were most likely driving on the highway?
Old 08-18-2007
This is Myspace

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
DsevenEm2 is a splendid one to beholdDsevenEm2 is a splendid one to beholdDsevenEm2 is a splendid one to beholdDsevenEm2 is a splendid one to beholdDsevenEm2 is a splendid one to beholdDsevenEm2 is a splendid one to beholdDsevenEm2 is a splendid one to beholdDsevenEm2 is a splendid one to beholdDsevenEm2 is a splendid one to beholdDsevenEm2 is a splendid one to behold

but for a hybrid.. still. theres people out there making 30 mpg average on non-hybrid, non-vtec motors d17s.
Old 08-18-2007
Registered!!

Originally Posted by hvc
when you drive in the city, the stop and go, or whatever, doesn't allow you to achieve your 50MPG, which is why you get only 30-40. When you did achieve 50MPG, you were most likely driving on the highway?