General Honda Civic Forum Archive. The archive is dedicated to storing threads for research purposes only, please place questions in their appropriate forum.

RSX engine swap how to pull engine with minimal tools

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2003
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
smokinwhoo is an unknown quantity at this point
RSX engine swap how to pull engine with minimal tools

Hello, i am planning to do a swap sometime with a 4 door civic and a k20a2, i'm a newbie to swaps..i've seen k20's in mini coopers on the web but looks like a lotta custom work.. and prolly too front heavy for that little car.

1. How do you lower the engine out of the car with a minimal amount of tools.., i have ratchets and a sliding floor jack.. that does not raise the car up very high.. ?

2. Basically I wanted to know what kind of options there are for taking the engine out if i don't have a car lift..

I was thinking about making something with cynder blocks and driving the vehicle up on to it.. since u can leave the wheels on when the engine goes down right??? just an idea..

i'm trying to do this as fast as i can because i don't have a garage right now and i don't want to leave stuff out in the weather..
Old 09-30-2003
2k1civic.com O. G.

AzNmiKex215 will become famous soon enoughAzNmiKex215 will become famous soon enough
i believe the wheels must come off.. beucase its connected to the axels which are connected to the tranny which is connected to the engine.. lol

basically everything must come out.. not easly accomplished without and engine hoist.. or a lift..
u could just use multiple jacks.. but i dunno u will need someway to lift the car. i dont think driving it up on some home built comtraption is safe.

anyone that can do it with just the tools u named.. i haill to them..

u from philly? wut part? maybe i can come help u wif the swap..

Last edited by AzNmiKex215; 09-30-2003 at 09:36 PM.
Old 09-30-2003
Registered!!

SODJAZERO is an unknown quantity at this point