Mechanical Problems/Vehicle Issues and Fix-it Forum If you've got a problem you just can't figure out, a noise you can't diagnose, or a Check Engine Light that won't go away, ask about it here!

Car shakes when engaging clutch in first

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2007
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
bakertime is a jewel in the roughbakertime is a jewel in the roughbakertime is a jewel in the rough
Car shakes when engaging clutch in first

I've got an 01 EX w/ 71k mi, and when I engage 1st from a start, it begins to shake the whole car if I don't apply more gas. I know this sounds like me shifting poorly, and that I'm just not giving it enough gas, but I've been driving this car for 2 years and have not had a problem like this. At first I suspected clutch slip, but I've read that slipping usually occurs in higher gears first. Any ideas?

I really don't think it applies, but it started happening the same week my Ksports went on.

Thanks,
Baker
Old 07-06-2007
Registered!!

rick1574 will become famous soon enough
Re: Car shakes when engaging clutch in first

i had the same problem in my 04 after 33k miles. it lasted for about a week and the day i drove it to the dealership to get checked out, its stopped.

hasn't come back since and i still don't know what caused it. how long has it been doing that?
Old 07-06-2007
Registered!!

Medic_06 is on a distinguished road

I have this problem too. I think it is something to do with heat warp or something. like really smooth slippery spots on the flywheel. Only happens when starting off in first, and not letting the clutch out really quickly like normal.
But its late, I'm tired, and I could be a stupefied complete idiot on the subject.
Old 07-11-2007
Premium Member
Hey! Look At Me!! I'm a Supporting Member!!