1st - 5th Generation Civic 1973 - 1995 In the years from 1973 to 1995 Honda released its 1-5th Generation Civics.
1st Gen 1972 - July 1979
2nd Gen 1979 - 1983
3rd Gen 1984 - 1987
4th Gen 1987 - 1991
5th Gen 1992 - 1995

New Member, New (to me) Commuter. Got projects coming with questions

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2016
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
N0OS3 is an unknown quantity at this point
New Member, New (to me) Commuter. Got projects coming with questions

Hello, first time poster here. I did a search on the topic before I decided to post, I hope the moderator(s) dont kick this. I'm making this thread for community feedback but also a personal log of trial and error of projects to come. It's an old style car but parts appear to be very cheap and easy to repair/replace/diagnose.

Anyway, I just got a cheap commuter for work from a coworker. I'm a junior mechanic and managed to get this 1991 Civic LX for $200 that just got a used japanese engine with approx 60k miles on it (installed 500 miles ago); new timing belt, seals all around. It had been sitting for 2 years since the guy's daughter bought something new and just left this thing sitting outside collecting algae, moss, and mold.

So far what I've done:
Brakes:
Machined rotors, flattened pads (since they still had 7mm left, just rusty/sticky calipers), replaced calipers and well lubed everything. I machined the drums, replace leaking wheel cylinders. Shoes looked new(ish) and not contaminated.
Replaced leaking master cylinder and flushed entire brake system.
I had to do all this just to feel safe enough to drive it 100miles a day. Now the brakes work great with a high firm pedal.
Detail:
Vehicle was full of junk, coin change, and stains. I filled up x3 50gallon trash cans full of moldy clothes and random garbage.