6th Generation Civic 1996 - 2000 In the years from 1996 to 2000 Honda released it's 6th Generation Civic.
Chassis codes: EK9, EK4, EK3, EJ6, EJ8, EJ9, EM1

A Living Fossil

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2015
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Coatchawa is an unknown quantity at this point
A Living Fossil

Hello all! I am new to the Honda world.

I have had several imports, and have had many opportunities to work with the Subaru EA81/82 and EJ22/25 motors, the oh-so-wonderful 88-92 Ford Festiva 1.3l (Mazda motor), and others.

I made a trip out to Montana, to scope out a $400 Subaru EA82T I had found on Craigslist. I made it out there with my truck and trailer, ready to pick the car up. The car cranked and ran under it's own power, but the turbo housing was cracked, and belching oil into the engine bay. There were several other electrical problems along with much more rust than the seller had realized, so I opted to pass on the opportunity.

This bloke's property went on farther than the eye could see, and it was obvious that he hoarded cars. That Subaru if I hadn't mentioned, had been sitting for a good 4-6 years. Under some trees and in a few bushes, I saw a gem. Something I've always thought about, but never got around to buying. A 6th gen Civic hatchback.

The paint along with the glass was covered with a layer of muck and moss, but with a little spit and my shirt sleeve, I found that it scrubbed off easy enough to reveal what looked to be a "still okay" factory paint job. I asked the gentleman if he had ever considered selling it, and he said that he had long forgotten about that car.