7th Generation Civic 2001 - 2005 In the years from 2001 to 2005 Honda released it's 7th Generation Civic.
Chassis codes: EM2, ES1, EP3, EU1
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

worth the trouble? please help

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2017
Registered!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
rad_reabster is an unknown quantity at this point
Question worth the trouble? please help

hi everyone, Honda newbie here. so our family decided to buy an 05' Civic LX coupe with a 5 speed around May last year from one of those used car lots. i was in desperate need of a vehicle at the time, and naturally a clean, shiny car with 120k priced at $4995 with matching numbers on Kelley Blue Book and CARFAX seemed like a bargain. after my parents looked at it, they agreed it would be a great addition. so we bought it, and so far we've put about 10k on the odo. it has run reliably with no issues whatsoever since. last week I had the airbags replaced in Phoenix for free due to a recall, and being a resident of Show Low I had to journey over 100 miles across the mountains. the certified Honda service center that replaced the bags also did an inspection while it was in, and they found a lot wrong with it.

the invoice lists: oil pump seals with timing and outer belts priced at $960, power steering suction hose priced at $70, power steering pump assembly priced at $736, a cam end plug priced at $218, vavle adjust and spark plugs priced at $395, a front mount (engine mount, engine vibrates under heavy RPMs) priced at $264, compliance bushings priced at $485, and rear struts priced at $850

now obviously this was a shock to me.

how could a car that was so clean have so much wrong with it? did we get ripped off? is this certain service center trying to make a quick buck? is it even worth the time, struggle and money to fix this car? or should i just sell it and avoid wasting my time?