7th Generation Civic 2001 - 2005 In the years from 2001 to 2005 Honda released it's 7th Generation Civic.
Chassis codes: EM2, ES1, EP3, EU1
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Really confused about lowering

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2011
Sedans > Coupes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Brian1037 is a jewel in the roughBrian1037 is a jewel in the roughBrian1037 is a jewel in the rough
Really confused about lowering

I've done a lot of reading and I know that slamming my car will be very expensive, and since I'm a student, I'd have to put that off for now. But, every so often I see people who bought lowering springs, and they give the impression that they're only going to be installing those and nothing else along with them

I know that what you need depends on how low you go, but I can't find a guide on what to use at what level of drop. I keep seeing lowering springs on kijiji for 100$, and if that's all it took to make my Civic not look like a 4x4 anymore, then I'd be more than willing to throw them on, but I don't want to damage anything, and I want the suspension system to stay safe and reliable.

So what I'm asking is for a definitive guide on what needs to be replaced at what drop height, something like:

1 inch drop: replace springs
1.5 inch drop: replace springs, replace ______
2 inch drop: replace springs, camber kit, etc

If there's already a guide out there, I apologize, and please point me in the right direction.
Old 04-08-2011
PITA Admin
Administrator

Received 1,446 Likes on 1,201 Posts
sdaidoji has much to be proud ofsdaidoji has much to be proud ofsdaidoji has much to be proud ofsdaidoji has much to be proud ofsdaidoji has much to be proud ofsdaidoji has much to be proud ofsdaidoji has much to be proud ofsdaidoji has much to be proud ofsdaidoji has much to be proud ofsdaidoji has much to be proud ofsdaidoji has much to be proud of
Re: Really confused about lowering