Honda Civic Forum

Honda Civic Forum (https://www.civicforums.com/forums/)
-   Member's Rides (https://www.civicforums.com/forums/46-members-rides)
-   -   Is a 2005 civic coupe DX worth racing? (https://www.civicforums.com/forums/46-members-rides/256154-2005-civic-coupe-dx-worth-racing.html)

civ11 04-08-2006 06:26 PM

Is a 2005 civic coupe DX worth racing?

I recently was thinking about spending money on performance parts (not on stuff like body kits, lights, etc.) but.... seeing my civic is the DX edition (I think that is the cheapest civic haha).... would it be worth it? or should I myself the money?

P.S. I am a newbie when it comes to cars and racing, but I'm willing to do a lot of research to start getting into it.

Slow Gold 04-08-2006 06:27 PM

save your money.

EuroEMII 04-08-2006 07:01 PM

If you race it against another civic dx, then it is worth racing, otherwise no...

tuner04civic 04-08-2006 07:07 PM

unless you swap it out or go forced induction it will always be slow

SinaloaCivic 04-08-2006 07:08 PM

^^^^ true, i wasted $2,000 of my saved hard earned money for 4 WHP.......when i should have saved it more for a swap, but hey,m live and learn.....but u just cant beat the gas mileage :-D

-PeTeY!! ::RedlinedEM2::

Cptn. Slow 04-08-2006 07:10 PM

if you are committed then swap, if not then save your money and trade up later on

Touge Whore 04-08-2006 07:56 PM

Yeah....it all depends on your budget though. My car is extremely competetive and fun to drive. Best thing you can do now is research, and while you research save every penny for either F/I or K-swap. ....read up in the FAQ's.

01HonderCivic 04-08-2006 08:07 PM

D17 Civic != Racecar.

03hce 04-08-2006 08:47 PM

If you wanna be the fastest and win competitions then no! But if you wanna race for fun... do what you want and have fun!

Draven2 04-08-2006 09:12 PM

Originally Posted by SinaloaCivic