Honda Civic Forum

Honda Civic Forum (https://www.civicforums.com/forums/)
-   Member's Rides (https://www.civicforums.com/forums/46-members-rides)
-   -   my gosh darn intake is broken!!!! (https://www.civicforums.com/forums/46-members-rides/218989-my-gosh-darn-intake-broken.html)

IHeartMy02Vic 07-07-2005 04:25 PM

my gosh darn intake is broken!!!!
 
2 Attachment(s)
what the hell should i do?!?!?!

claudeboi 07-07-2005 04:31 PM

is your bracket broken? can't see clearly with pics... jus have'em rewelded...

IHeartMy02Vic 07-07-2005 04:33 PM

yea the bracket mounting the intake to the engine is cleanly busted off.
thank god it's the only the outer chamber and not the inner of the V2

sorry for the poor quality, pics were taken on a cell phone

flipmoderacer02 07-07-2005 04:43 PM

yea just weld the bracket back on...good luck

fullgrown 07-07-2005 05:16 PM

lucky for you, my V2 welding broke off also couple weeks ago, and it took out a big chunk out of the actual intake. so there was an inch diameter hole in my intake. still didn't fix it. i put over the hole the V2 sticker that came with the intake. lol

02civic_rida 07-07-2005 05:30 PM

haha, that sux!!! just playin with ya that happend to mine, send it back and get a new one ;) and make sure u use a ruber washer to mount it down.

nick95673 07-07-2005 05:31 PM

JB weld it back together it will hold.

2K1Civic17"Gabe 07-07-2005 05:46 PM


Originally Posted by fullgrown
lucky for you, my V2 welding broke off also couple weeks ago, and it took out a big chunk out of the actual intake. so there was an inch diameter hole in my intake. still didn't fix it. i put over the hole the V2 sticker that came with the intake. lol

Hope that sticker doesnt suck through ever, and go into your engine. That would not be good, so be careful with that.

jttegx 07-07-2005 06:02 PM

what you should do is put the factory airbox back in and get it welded if u want to keep it. or if its a legit intake like AEM, send them that and they'll give u another. of course, u would have to call them first.

JCiv03 07-08-2005 04:45 AM

you should call AEM up and ask for a replacement. I've been reading a lot about people's AEM V2 intake breaking at the bracket. :tdown:

disturbed24st 07-08-2005 06:25 AM

I was cleaning my engine yesterday getting it ready for a show.I took out my V2 intake and noticed that mine was cracking at the same place.

02civic_rida 07-08-2005 06:48 AM

YUP^^^ make sure everyone that has a V2 that u are using ruber washers to mount it down, otherwise it has no room to move at all and it will crack.

TransformedBG 07-08-2005 07:12 AM

V2 have been known to do that.. thats why they suck... and if you do get it right, it will happen again. and again.. just tell aem to refund your money and pick up a different brand, like ingen or something.

IHeartMy02Vic 07-08-2005 06:07 PM

^^^^^can i still do that if i've had the intake for a year and a half and being told that AEM only has a 3 month warranty on their products??

TransformedBG 07-08-2005 06:42 PM

Aem will exchange it if its a defect. but call them up ask to speak to a manager.. go up the managers till you find someone who can. :)

EM2jdm 07-08-2005 06:45 PM

mine broke a few months ago, and from previous experience i've with AEM i just went out and bought another intake and guess what it was....a AEM CAI what irony

IHeartMy02Vic 07-13-2005 05:23 PM

ok, i gotta send in the intake and maybe get a replacement...........i may just get the new one, sell it and buy a K&N complete cold air cuz i've heard a lot of good things about them

zachgeyer 07-13-2005 05:47 PM

damm V2 are always brecking send it to AeM

CuRiOuSfIsH 07-13-2005 10:36 PM

actually, AEM never asked for my old one back.... I broke 2 already. I'm on my 3rd replacement.

czechcivic 07-13-2005 10:52 PM

Call and ask for a new one, then reweld your old one and sell it.....They wont ask for the old one as far as I remember

Blahman240 07-13-2005 11:07 PM

v2 huh? same happened to mine. No actual air goes in through the outter layer. So its fine. But I say its time to go turbo. Your car is telling you something. My car told me something I listened... Now I'll be boosted in a week or so.

IHeartMy02Vic 07-14-2005 12:10 AM

alright guys, i just downgraded my intake back to stock :mad: :tdown: :( ...............i'm sick of hearing about the V2 breaking and i don't want to deal with it again.....i'm going K&N!!!!! :sweet:

gearbox 07-14-2005 12:25 AM

Awesome. Typhoon is the best!

gearbox 07-14-2005 12:28 AM

2k2 civic ex automatic with K&N typhoon sri. Look at all the torque gains.

http://www.7thgencivic.com/memberrid...kn-typhoon.jpg

fixeruper 07-14-2005 02:50 AM

damn that sh*t drops out at the end

Blahman240 07-14-2005 03:10 AM

**** it... go ebay. They all work the same. Go ebay for a temp solution. Then go turbo.

fixeruper 07-14-2005 03:12 AM

yeah f*ck the intake just go turbo lol

Blahman240 07-14-2005 03:14 AM

lol, that's what I did!

fixeruper 07-14-2005 03:28 AM

lol me too, kinda
i got my turbo kit (still in my room) and a day later the mount broke lol

IHeartMy02Vic 07-14-2005 02:48 PM

well, i drove my car today with the stock intake back on.....now, my sub doesn't work, the power cord from the amp is still connected to the battery. anybody know what the problem may be?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 AM.


© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands