Honda Civic Forum

Honda Civic Forum (https://www.civicforums.com/forums/)
-   Wheels, Tires & Brakes Modifications (https://www.civicforums.com/forums/43-wheels-tires-brakes-modifications)
-   -   Replacing pads and rotors, brakes sticking (https://www.civicforums.com/forums/43-wheels-tires-brakes-modifications/371696-replacing-pads-rotors-brakes-sticking.html)

dnmacdon 11-16-2017 07:40 PM

Replacing pads and rotors, brakes sticking

I'm doing the brakes on my 2004 Civic LX. It's my first time doing brakes, though I've managed to complete a number of other jobs successfully in the year I've owned the car (replaced drive belts, new oil pan, some exhaust work, replaced ISB, new clutch, fixed some wiring in the door, replaced ball joint). I'm following the instructions in the factory service manual and the Haynes manual.

When I reassemble everything and press and release the brake pedal a few times, I'm finding both rotors become hard to turn by hand: the driver side a little, and passenger side very much. After pumping the brake pedal a couple of times, I need two hands to move the passenger side rotor. I can move it with the wheel on but the brakes are clearly dragging.

I've replaced the rotors and pads with aftermarket (Brembo), as well as the abutment clips (Carlson). Greased the back of the pads and shims, greased where the pads seat in the clips. Cleaned and regreased the slider pins (they were in good shape and slide smoothly). Dust boots on the sliders are intact. I can push the piston back with a C-clamp and it seems to slide smoothly.